Everyday Hero

After my grandson left to spend father’s day with his dad and grandfather, I treated myself to a matinée of “Man of Steel” at the nearby theatre.

When I was a little girl, my parents took me to see “Superman” and the movie had a profound psychological effect on me.  I remember playing with my sister and young friends – in our imaginary games, I always wanted to be Lois Lane and have Superman as my boyfriend.

As I grew up and my real life loves didn’t quite fill Superman’s boots, my dad was always there to comfort me.  When my fiancée left – on Father’s day, no less, Dad arrived with his pickup truck to help us move.  My heart was breaking, but he was a calm force in a roiling sea of emotion.

Last year, as I told my parents that my marriage was ending, my dad was my rock once again.

It is no small thing to be a father.  I think it is a gift that does not always sit comfortably on the shoulders of those on whom it is bestowed, but on some men, fatherhood gives them wings.

Thanks, Dad, for being my everyday hero – for believing in me when my confidence waivers, for holding me up when I begin to fall – even as a middle-aged adult, I feel supported by the love you share.

Happy Father’s Day.

My Hero

My Hero

Leave a comment