Fine Praise, Indeed!

Monday, Manda sent me a Versatile Blogger Award.

This unexpected nomination made my evening.  In the midst of all the chaos of packing and preparing to move across the country, reading Manda’s Mommy Mayhem is among the guilty pleasures employed to keep me sane.  Thanks, Manda!

The rules governing the award include:

  • Thanking and linking to the person who nominated you
  • Sharing 7 random facts about yourself
  • Passing the award along to 15 new-found blogging buddies
  • Contacting those buddies to congratulate them

Although this may seem late, I’ve been crafting this response since Monday!

Seven random facts about myself:

  1. I’m in the process of relocating from a suburb of Detroit, Michigan to Sacramento, California to join my husband who recently began a job there.  I’m incredibly sad to move so far from family and friends, but hopeful to lure those I love to California for visits!
  2. My two doodles – Cricket (Goldendoodle) and Beatle (Labradoodle) are my furry children.  Here are photos of said beasties – you know you think they’re cute!
  3. I’m a frustrated creative – wanting to write, but making excuses.  This blog is my mechanism for ensuring that writing is once again daily practice and my method for forcing me to share what I write.  I plan to share my poetry and fiction in future months (as my confidence builds).
  4. Zumba is my current addiction.  I cannot say enough positive things about how much I love to dance and the stress-free enjoyment that can be gained from truly, physically abandoning yourself to music.
  5. I’m contemplating taking the leap and investing in an eReader.  I’m an avid reader and between me and my husband, we have hundreds of books (all of which are now in Sacramento awaiting my arrival to be lovingly, logically organized).  Going digital is something I never thought I would do, but I’m starting to think it will be easier travelling with a small device than a suitcase full of hardcovers.
  6. My husband will not tell me what he got me for my birthday (earlier this month) and is making me wait until I arrive in California to get it – frankly, I’m ready for him to share that information with me today.  My patience is being tested!
  7. I love to swim.  When I was a child, I wanted to be a fish when I grew up.

Here are my top 15 blogs:

  1. Manda’s Mommy Mayhem
  2. Kate’s Channel
  3. Life is good.  Even when it sucks
  4. Oh so Tasty!
  5. A Lego a Day
  6. Kolembo – Short Poetry
  7. Reader, I Created Him
  8. John Donut: Sarcasm with Sprinkles
  9. Love and Hate
  10. Oh Say, Can you Say?
  11. Eatables and Potables
  12. Intractable Bibliophilia
  13. Pencil to Paper
  14. Inside ArtHead
  15. Sageland Creative: The Shape of Trees

I hope you enjoy them – I certainly do!  Happy reading!

11 thoughts on “Fine Praise, Indeed!

  1. jamieonline says:

    Congratulations from another Versatile Blogger Awardee.
    Great to read your post.

  2. Kate says:

    Thank you and congratulations! You made my evening. I am sitting here waiting for a girlfriend to pick me up for a cooking class at Vince and Joe’s. Your creative spirit has inspired me to stick with writing my blog and I wish you lots of blessings in your new venture in Sacramento.

  3. Janet says:

    What a fun joy – thank you and congratulations to YOU!

    California is one of my favorite places – and you’ll be so close to San Francisco (the most REAL of cities on the left coast, as far as I’m concerned). Enjoy it- and just think, you’ll be able to swim outdoors nearly every day of the year!

    My husband bought be a NookColor for Valentine’s Day – it’s like instant gratification for readers. They can be fun … but you can’t have an author sign a NookColor – at least not yet, anyway.

    I’ve considered Zumba, but yoga is my biggest addiction … and I’m going off to a class right now!

    I’ll need to think about “the rules” to our new-found recognition, so stay tuned!

    And thanks again!

  4. Katrina says:

    Thank you so much for passing the award to me! It’s my very first blog award, and I’m honored. I loved your seven facts, too!

    Best of luck with the move!

  5. katblogger says:

    Thanks so much for the award – I was beginning to wonder if I had any readers at all. Wow… now I have to find fifteen bloggers. I’m not sure I know of fifteen bloggers. Hm…

  6. [...] is in early April when Michelle Beish honors me with The Versatile Blogger award, and I am truly grateful to her. For me, it is such a gift to connect with those of like mind [...]

  7. [...] of being The Versatile Blogger, awarded to me by Michelle Beish, is passing the award along to 15 new-found blogging buddies and [...]

Leave a Reply

